Mexican National Team starts training for Copa America Centenario

By administrator1 May 23, 2016 08:40

Mexican National Team starts training for Copa America Centenario

By Francisco Romero

Members of the Mexican National Team started arriving to training camp in Mexico City, getting ready for the upcoming Copa America Centenario tournament.

Juan Carlos Osorio’s team will train in Mexico until May 26th, then the team will head to the United States to play a couple of friendlies before starting Copa America. El Tri will play against Paraguay in Atlanta and will face Chile in San Diego on May 28th and June 1st respectively.

Alfredo Talavera, Jesús Corona, Guillermo Ochoa, Néstor Araujo, Yasser Corona, Jorge Torres Nilo, Rafael Márquez, Héctor Moreno, Jesús Molina, Jesús Dueñas, Andrés Guardado, Carlos Peña an Jürguen Damm arrived Sunday.

The rest of the players will join the National Team as they finish duties with their respective teams.

Copa America Centenario play will start June 3rd; the City of Phoenix will get to watch the action close and personal, as it will host three games.

“This is going to get crazy,” said Armando Rojas, a lifelong Mexican National Team fan who lives in Chandler. “I never thought that the tournament would leave Latin America and to have it in our own back yards makes it that much special,” added Rojas.

The games will be played at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale; on June 5th Mexico will face Ecuador and on June 8th it will take on Peru.

The following is the list of the players who will make up the Mexican National Team for the Copa America Centenario.


Players Club


Alfredo Talavera Díaz Toluca
José de Jesús Corona Rodríguez Cruz Azul
Francisco Guillermo Ochoa Magaña Málaga
Paúl Nicolás Aguilar Rojas América
Néstor Alejandro Araujo Razo Santos
Diego Antonio Reyes Rosales Real Sociedad
Héctor Alfredo Moreno Herrera PSV Eindhoven
Yasser Anwar Corona Delgado Querétaro
Jorge Emmanuel Torres Nilo Tigres
Miguel Arturo Layún Prado Porto
Rafael Márquez Álvarez Atlas
Jesús Antonio Molina Granados Santos
Héctor Miguel Herrera López Porto
Jesús Alberto Dueñas Manzo Tigres
José Andrés Guardado Hernández PSV Eindhoven
Carlos Alberto Peña Rodríguez Guadalajara
Jürguen Damm Rascón Tigres
Hirving Rodrigo Lozano Bahena Pachuca
Jesús Manuel Corona Ruíz Porto
Javier Ignacio Aquino Carmona Tigres
Javier Hernández Balcázar Bayer Leverkusen
Raúl Alonso Jiménez Rodríguez Benfica
Oribe Peralta Morones América



By administrator1 May 23, 2016 08:40

Follow Us